Theory Seminars Location: Green Room (except where noted)

     
2005 Previous Seminars                                                           Theoretical Physics Group  
Dam Son
Washington
Viscosity of thermal gauge theories from black hole physics Wed. 1/5/2005
1:30
Howard Haber
UCSC
A New Look at the Two Higgs Doublet Model Fri. 1/7/2005
12:30
Rikard Enberg
LBL
High energy scattering and diffraction in QCD Wed. 1/12/2005
1:30



Raphael Bousso
Berkeley
Cosmology, Event Horizons, and the S-Matrix Fri. 1/14/2005
12:30
**Joint Seminar at UCSC**
Raphael Bousso
Wed. 1/19/2005
Tobias Hurth
CERN
New Physics Search -- Opportunities in Flavour Physics Fri 1/21/2005
12:30



Levon Pogosian
Tufts
String Renaissance? Wed. 1/26/2005
1:30
Gautam Mandal
Tata Institute
Matrices from Supergravity Fri. 1/28/2005
12:30
Gary Horowitz
UCSB
Towards a Dual Description of a Cosmological Singularity Wed. 2/2/2005
1:30



Peter Graham
Stanford
Dark Matter in Split Supersymmetry Fri. 2/4/2005
12:30
Oleg Lunin
IAS
AdS/CFT Correspondence for Half-BPS States Wed. 2/9/2005
1:30
**Special Seimnar**
Nathan Seiberg
IAS
Minimal Flux Vacua Wed. 2/9/2005
4:00, Green Room



Alexander Giryavets
Stanford
Enumerating Flux Vacua Fri. 2/11/2005
12:30
**Joint Seminar at UCSC**
Petr Horava
Wed. 2/16/2005
Yasuhiro Sekino
Stanford
String duals of super Yang-Mills theories with 16 supercharges Fri. 2/18/2005
12:30



Davide Gaiotto
Harvard
Black hole attractors and superconformal quantum mechanics Wed. 2/23/2005
1:30
Larus Thorlacius
Stanford & Iceland
Semi-classical geometry of charged black holes Fri. 2/25/2005
12:30
Petr Vogel
Caltech
Neutrinoless Double Beta Decay and Lepton Flavor Violation Wed. 3/2/2005
1:30



Lukasz Fidkowski
Stanford
Superpotentials for D-branes on del Pezzo singularities Fri. 3/4/2005
12:30
**Joint Seminar at UCSC**
Nima Arkani-Hamed
Predictive Landscapes and New Physics at a TeV Wed. 3/9/2005
Martijn Wijnholt
Princeton
Topological String Theory on H_3 x S^3 Fri. 3/11/2005
12:30



**Special Seminar**
Laurent Lellouch
CERN
Recent developments in the study of non-leptonic kaon decays and neutral kaon mixing on the lattice Fri. 3/11/2005
3:00
Aryes Freitas
Fermilab
Indirect determination of the Higgs mass through electroweak radiative corrections Wed. 3/16/2005
1:30
James Vary
Iowa State
Non-perturbative many-body methods and their applications to light-front field theory Fri. 3/18/2005
12:30



Marvin Weinstein
SLAC
Informal Seminar Wed. 3/23/2005
2:30 ***Note Special Time***
Siannah Penaranda
CERN
Electroweak Precision Observables in the MSSM with Non-Minimal Flavor Violation Fri. 3/25/2005
12:30
Hooman Davoudiasl
U. Wisconsin
Neutrino Masses without High Scales Wed. 3/30/2005
1:30



Adam Lewandowski
SLAC
Corrections to large N Scaling in Randall-Sundrum Theories Fri. 4/1/2005
12:30
Eric Sharpe
Utah
Gauging noneffective group actions and mirror symmetry Wed. 4/6/2005
1:30
Hirosi Ooguri
Caltech
Topological Strings, Black Holes and the Wavefunction of the Universe Fri. 4/8/2005
12:30



**Joint Seminar at UCSC**
Hitoshi Murayama
Wed. 4/13/2005
Takemichi Okui
BU
Limit on Gravitino Mass from Soft Graviton Effective Theory Fri. 4/15/2005
12:30
Douglas Spolyar
UCSC
Chain Inflation Wed. 4/20/2005
1:30



Johan Alwall
Uppsala
Quark asymmetries in the proton from a model for parton densities Fri. 4/22/2005
12:30
Alex Maloney
SLAC
AdS/CFT and Cosmology Wed. 4/27/2005
1:30
Peter Zerwas
DESY
ILC/LHC: SUSY Reconstruction Fri. 4/29/2005
12:30



James Lindesay
SLAC
Quantum Coherence Arguments for Cosmological Scale Wed. 5/4/2005
1:30
Gary Felder
Smith
Waves and Bubbles: The Detailed Structure of Preheating Fri. 5/6/2005
12:30
Lisa Randall
Harvard
Relaxing to Three Dimensions Wed. 5/11/2005



Katie Freese
Michigan
Cardassian Expansion: Dark Energy due to Modified Friedmann Equations Fri. 5/13/2005
12:30
Jeppe Andersen
Cambridge
Probing the High Energy Limit of QCD Wed. 5/18/2005
1:30
Indrajit Mitra
LBL
Soap Bubbles and Black Branes Fri. 5/20/2005
12:30



Andy Cohen
BU
TBA Wed. 5/25/2005
1:30
Jim Cline
McGill
Aspects of Inflation from String Theory Fri. 5/27/2005
12:30
**Joint Seminar at UCSC**
Jonathan Feng
UC Irvine
Long Live SUSY! Wed. 6/1/2005



**Thesis Defense**
Ben Lillie
SLAC
Collider phenomenology of Randall-Sundrum models Wed. 6/1/2005
1:30, Green Room
Michael Ramsey-Musolf
Caltech
Resonant Relaxation in Electroweak Baryogenesis Fri. 6/3/2005
12:30
Avaroth Harindranath
SINP, Calcutta
Topological sector of two dimensional phi^4 theory in Discrete Light Cone Quantization Wed. 6/8/2005
1:30



Michael Binger
SLAC
A Multi-scale Physical Renormalization of QCD Applied to Heavy Quark Production Fri. 6/10/2005
12:30
Raj Gandhi
Harish-Chandra
Matter Effects in the Atmospheric Muon Neutrino Survival Probability as a probe of the Mass Hierarchy in Future Detectors Thur. 6/16/2005 *Note: special date and time***
2:00
Ryuichiro Kitano
IAS
Scenarios for Supersymmetry Cosmology and Phenomenology Fri. 6/17/2005
12:30



Alexander Mitov
Hawaii
B->s+gamma: the Photon Spectrum at NNLO Wed. 6/22/2005
1:30
Soren Wiesenfeldt
UIUC
SO(10) Grand Unification in Six Dimensions Fri. 6/24/2005
12:30
Maria Herrero
UA Madrid
Flavor Changing Higgs Boson Decays Induced from Supersymmetry Wed. 6/29/2005
1:30



Bob McElrath
UC Davis
Discovering Light Dark Matter at B-Factories Fri. 7/8/2005
Special time: 1:30
Changrim Ahn
Ewha Women's U., Seoul
D-Branes of Super-Liouville Theories Wed. 7/13/2005
1:30
George W.S. Hou
Natl. Taiwan U.
Difference in B+ and B0 Direct CP Asymmetries as Arising from a Fourth Generation Fri. 7/22/2005
12:30



Paul Hoyer
Helsinki
Soft Rescattering in Hard Collisions Wed. 8/10/2005
1:30
Jan Kalinowski
Warsaw U.
CP Violation in B->tau+tau- Decay Thu. 8/11/2005 **Note: special date and time***
2:00
Pervez Hoodbhoy
Quaid-e-Azam U.
Generalized Parton Distributions - Recent Progress Wed. 8/17/2005
1:30



Sukanta Dutta
Delhi U.
Anomalous Gauge-Higgs Boson Couplings Fri. 9/16/2005
12:30
Oliver Rosten
Southampton U.
A Generalised, Manifestly Gauge Invariant ERG for SU(N) Yang-Mills Fri. 9/23/2005
12:30
Kaustubh Agashe
Johns Hopkins U.
Warped Compactifications: Flavor, Unification and Dark Matter Fri. 9/30/2005
12:30



Maria Krawczyk
Warsaw U.
Higgs and other New Physics at a Photon-Photon Collider Wed. 10/5/2005
1:30
Gil Paz
Cornell U.
An Inclusive Look at Charmless Inclusive B Decays Fri. 10/7/2005
12:30
Ofer Aharony
Weizmann Inst.
Plasma-Balls and Localized Black Holes in Large N Gauge Theories Wed. 10/12/2005
1:30



Rakhi Mahbubani
Harvard U.
The Minimal Model for Dark Matter and Unification Fri. 10/14/2005
12:30
Ryuichiro Kitano
SLAC
A Natural Supersymmetric Standard Model Wed. 10/19/2005
1:30
Spencer Chang
NYU
MSSM + S: New Higgs Decays, Limits and Tunings Fri. 10/21/2005
12:30



Ingo Kirsch
Harvard U.
Holography of Flavor Beyond the Quenched Approximation Wed. 10/26/2005
1:30
Gilad Perez
LBL
Observing Dark Energy via Neutrino Detectors Fri. 10/28/2005
12:30
Xi Yin
Harvard U.
Fun with Black Holes and Quivers Wed. 11/2/2005
1:30



Peter Shepard
UC Berkeley
Black Hole Statistics from Holography Fri. 11/4/2005
12:30
Andrew Blechman
Johns Hopkins U.
Phenomenology of Flavor Violation in RS Models Wed. 11/09/2005
1:30
Kathryn Zurek
Washington U.
Unmasking Light Scalars in Cosmology Fri. 11/11/2005
12:30



Pavel Nadolsky
Argonne
Precise p_T Resummation for Hadron Colliders Wed. 11/16/2005
1:30
Peter Svrcek
SLAC
Axions in String Theory Fri. 11/18/2005
12:30
Kasper Risager
Bohr Inst. & SLAC
Twistor-Inspired and Recursive Methods in Field Theory Calculations Wed. 11/30/2005
1:30



Hsin-Chia Cheng
UC Davis
A Higgs Phase of Gravity Fri. 12/02/2005
12:30
Yosef Nir
Weizmann Inst.
Why is the Neutrino Flavor Special? Wed. 12/07/2005
1:30
N. Emil J. Bjerrum-Bohr
Swansea U.
Twistor Space, Amplitudes and Unitarity Methods Thu. 12/08/2005
2:30
Note special date and time!



Jogesh C. Pati
Maryland U. & SLAC
Fun Still with Grand Unification:
Linking Neutrinos, CP and Our Origin
Fri. 12/09/2005
12:30
Kyoungchul Kong
U. of Florida
SUSY or Extra Dimensions: That is the Question Wed. 12/14/2005
1:30



Return to Top                                                             Previous Seminars

Guadalupe Makasyuk