Theory Seminars Location: Green Room (except where noted)

2004 Previous Seminars                                                           Theoretical Physics Group
No Speaker
American Linear Collider Winter Meeting at SLAC Fri. 01/09/2004
12:30
Soo-Jong Rey
IAS
Reconstructing a Black Hole from a Weakly Interacting Yang-Mills Gas Wed. 01/14/2004
1:30
Andrei Frolov
KIPAC/ITP, Stanford
Braneworld Cosmology Fri. 01/16/2004
12:30



Yasunori Nomura
UC-Berkeley/LBNL
POSTPONED due to Speaker Cancellation. Wed. 01/21/2004
1:30
Yasaman Farzan
SLAC
The effects of right-handed neutrino supermultiplets on electric dipole moments Fri. 01/23/2004
12:30
Walter Goldberger
UC-Berkeley
Effective Field Theory for Radiation Gravitons Wed. 01/28/2004
1:30



Yuval Grossman
SLAC
Sleptogenesis Fri. 01/30/2004
12:30
Nathan Seiberg
IAS
joint SLAC/USCS seminar at Santa Cruz Wed. 02/04/2004
1:30
Marvin Weinstein
SLAC
Quantum Cosmology Fri. 02/06/2004
12:30



Richard Woodard
University of Florida
Post Inflationary Dynamics Wed. 02/11/2004
1:30
Daniel Larson
UC-Berkeley
Introducing the Fat Higgs Fri. 02/13/2004
12:30
Rob Myers
Perimeter Institute
Cosmic Superstring II Wed. 02/18/2004
1:30



Harry Lipkin
Weizmann
"What can we learn from QCD about Pentaquarks and vice versa." Fri. 02/20/2004
12:30 GREEN ROOM (NOTE LOCATION!!)
Vittorio del Duca
Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare
Higgs production in association with jets at LHC Wed. 02/25/2004
1:30
Lloyd Knox
UC Davis
Constraints on Dark Energy and Neutrino Masses from Future Weak Lensing and CMB Observations Fri. 02/27/2004
12:30



Shiraz Minwalla
Harvard
joint SLAC/UCSC seminar at Santa Cruz Wed. 03/03/2004
1:30
Carlo Oleari
Durham
NLO QCD Corrections to Higgs Boson Production via Weak-Boson Fusion Wed. 03/03/2004
1:30
Stephon Alexander
SLAC
Leptogenesis from Inflationary Gravity Waves Fri. 03/05/2004
12:30



Bernd Kniehl
Hamburg
Heavy open-flavor and quarkonium production at colliders. Wed. 03/10/2004
1:30
Thomas Becher
SLAC
Factorization in Effective Field Theory Fri. 03/12/2004
12:30
Gudrun Heinrich
University of Durham
Pushing the limits of precision in particle physics Wed. 03/17/2004
1:30



Anthony Aguirre
UC-Santa Cruz
Eternal inflation, multiple universes, and other dark matters Fri. 03/19/2004
12:30
Wolfgang Kilian
DESY
Little Higgs at Colliders Wed. 03/24/2004
1:30
Savely Karshenboim
Munich, Max Planck Inst. Quantenopt. & Mendeleev Inst. Metrology
Hyperfine structure in light atoms: precision tests of QED Fri. 03/26/2004
12:30



Andy Strominger
Harvard
Black Holes and the Topological String Wed. 03/31/2004
1:30
Takemichi Okui
Boston University
Using the CMB to probe the neutrino mass spectrum, type and compositeness. Fri. 04/02/2004
12:30
Marcus Spradlin
UCSB
Yang-Mills Amplitudes from String Theory Wed. 04/07/2004
1:30



Albion Lawrence
Brandeis
N=2 to N=1 to N=0 SUSY in string models Fri. 04/09/2004
12:30
Christopher Herzog
UCSB
Chaos and KS Wed. 04/14/2004
1:30
Babis Anastasiou
SLAC
A complete framework for perturbative calculations in QFT Fri. 04/16/2004
12:30



Dan Marolf
UCSB
A World Without Entropy Bounds? Wed. 04/21/2004
1:30
Jorg Raufeisen
SLAC
Heavy Quark Production at RHIC and LHC Fri. 04/23/2004
12:30
Matthias Neubert
Cornell
Factorization in inclusive B decays and the challenge to calculate the B to X_s gamma rate Wed. 04/28/2004
1:30



David Kosower
SACLAY
Merging Parton Showers with Fixed Order Thurs. 04/29/2004
2:00 Green Room, NOTE DATE AND TIME!
Darius Sadri
Stanford University
Giant Hedge-Hogs, Spikes on Giant Gravitons Fri. 04/30/2004
12:30  GREEN ROOM: NOTE LOCATION!
Joe Polchinski
ITP, Santa Barbara
SLAC/UCSC Joint Seminar at Santa Cruz Wed. 05/05/2004
1:30



Alex Friedland
Los Alamos
Studying neutrino-matter interactions with neutrinos from the sky Fri. 05/07/2004
12:30
Radovan Dermisek
UC-Davis
Fermion Masses in Maximally Mixing World Wed. 05/12/2004
1:30
Manuel Masip
Granada
Cosmogenic Neutrinos and New Physics at the TeV Scale Fri. 05/14/2004
12:30



Marcela Carena
Fermilab
Dark Matter and Electroweak Baryogenesis Wed. 05/19/2004
12:30 (NOTE TIME CHANGE!)
Alex Filippenko
UC-Berkeley
Evidence from Type Ia Supernovae for a Decelerating, then Accelerating Universe and Dark Energy Fri. 05/21/2004
12:30
Allan Adams
Harvard
Lisa in the Sky with Dark matter Wed. 05/26/2004
1:30



Adam Lewandowski
SLAC
A Running Radius in RS Fri. 05/28/2004
12:30
Ann Nelson
University of Washington
Joint UCSC-SLAC Seminar at Santa Cruz Wed. 06/02/2004
1:30
Michael Binger
SLAC/Stanford
Precision Constraints on Unified Models Using Physical Renormalization Schemes Fri. 06/04/2004
12:30



Guy de Teramond
Costa Rica U.
Confinement and Hadron-States in QCD From Non-Conformal Gauge/String Duality Wed. 06/09/2004
1:30
Michael Peskin
SLAC
SUSY Dark Matter and Precision SUSY Measurements Fri. 06/11/2004
12:30
Lubomir Martinovic Spontaneous symmetry breaking and kinks in DLCQ Wed. 06/23/2004
1:30



TBA
Wed. 06/30/2004
1:30
No Theory Seminar--See E158 Experimental Seminar Fri. 07/02/2004
12:30
TBA
Wed. 07/07/2004
1:30



Susan Gardner
Kentucky
Radiative Tritium Beta-decay and the Neutrino Mass Fri. 07/09/2004
12:30
Chung Kao
The Search of Neutralino Dark Matter with High Energy Neutrinos Wed. 07/14/2004
1:30
Ami Katz
SLAC/Washington
Holographic QCD Fri. 07/16/2004
12:30



Jorg Raufeisen
SLAC
Statistical Physics and Thermodynamics on the Light-Front Wed. 07/21/2004
1:30
Peter Nilles
Bonn
Heterotic Brane World Fri. 07/23/2004
12:30
Gilad Perez
UC-Berkeley
Flavor Physics in RS1 Wed. 07/28/2004
1:30



V.A. Khoze
Durham
Diffractive Higgs and SUSY Production at the LHC Wed. 08/04/2004
1:00 NOTE SPECIAL TIME!
TBA TBA Fri. 08/06/2004
12:30
Dominik Stockinger
Durham
The anomalous magnetic moment of the muon and supersymmetry Wed. 08/18/2004
1:30



Mohammad Sheikh-Jabbari
Stanford
Tiny Graviton Matrix Theory: DLCQ of Strings on AdS_5xS^5 Fri. 08/27/2004
12:30
Gudrun Hiller
Munich
Double Radiative b-decays Wed. 09/08/2004
1:30
Je-An Gu
Center for Cosmology and Particle Astrophysics (CosPA), National Taiwan > University
Casimir Effect in a Supersymmetry-Breaking Brane-World as Dark Energy Fri. 09/10/2004
12:30



Taizan Watari
LBL
Product Group Unified Theory in Type IIB String Wed. 09/15/2004
1:30
Liam McAllister
Stanford
Open String Corrections to D-brane Dynamics Fri. 09/17/2004
12:30
Jerry Miller
Washington
Nucleon electromagnetic form factors and the shape and spin of the proton Wed. 09/22/2004
1:30



Xiao Liu
Stanford
Dynamical Dimension Change in Supercritical String Theory Fri. 09/24/2004
1:30 Green Room **Note Special Time and Place**
Bjoern Garbrecht
Heidelberg
Energy Density as Seen by Unruh's Detector Wed. 09/29/2004
1:30
No Seminar
Note Experimental Seminar at 12:30 in Orange Room Fri. 10/1/2004
12:30



Keh-Fei Liu
Kentucky
Chiral Symmetry, Topology, and Lattice QCD Wed. 10/06/2004
1:30
Ben Freivogel
Stanford/SLAC
A Framework for the Landscape Fri. 10/08/2004
12:30
Stefan Kretzer
Brookhaven
QCD Aspects of the NuTeV Anomaly Wed. 10/13/2004
1:30



Carola Berger
SLAC
e+ e- Dijet Event Shapes -- Resummation and Power Corrections Fri. 10/15/2004
12:30 in Green Room ***Note special location***
Klaus Behrndt
Albert Einstein Institue
Fixing of moduli by fluxes in type IIA string theory Wed. 10/20/2004
1:30
Thomas Gregoire
CERN
Gravity mediated supersymmetry breaking in warped brane worlds Fri. 10/22/2004
12:30



Bogdan Florea
Rutgers
Unoriented Instantons and N=1 Orientifolds Wed. 10/27/2004
11:00 AM ***Note Special Time***
Einan Gardi
Cambridge
Inclusive B-decay spectra and infrared renormalons Fri. 10/29/2004
1:30 in Green Room *Note Special Time and Place*
Thomas Levi
U. Penn
Holography and the Horizon Wed. 11/03/2004
1:30



Paul Aspinwall
Duke
Superpotentials for D-Branes and A-infinity Algebras Fri. 11/05/2004
12:30
Jay Hubisz
Cornell
Phenomenology of a little Higgs with T-parity Wed. 11/10/2004
1:30
Peter Svrcek
Princeton
MHV vertices and Scattering Amplitudes in Gauge Theory Fri. 11/12/2004
12:30



Sash Sarangi
Cornell
The Wavefunction of the Universe in the Cosmic Landscape Wed. 11/17/2004
1:30
Alex Saltman
Stanford/SLAC
A New Handle on String Compactifications Fri. 11/19/2004
12:30
Richard Hill
SLAC
Conformal Evanescence in SCET Wed. 11/24/2004
1:30



Henriette Elvang
UCSB
Supersymmetric and Non-Supersymmetric Black Rings Wed. 12/1/2004
1:30
John McGreevy
Stanford
The Matrix Harmonic Oscillator as a String Theory Fri. 12/3/2004
12:30
Ilarion Melnikov
Duke
The Coulomb Branch of the Gauged Linear Sigma Model Wed. 12/8/2004
1:30



Nikolai Uraltsev
Milan
B decays and a `BPS' expansion for B and D mesons Fri. 12/10/2004
12:00  *** Note Special Time
Lance Dixon
SLAC
Twistor space and multi-leg loop amplitudes in N=4 super-Yang-Mills theory Wed. 12/15/2004
1:30
     



Return to Top                                                             Previous Seminars

Guadalupe Makasyuk