Theory Seminars Location: Green Room (except where noted)

2003 Previous Seminars                                                           Theoretical Physics Group  
Oliver DeWolfe
Santa Barbara, ITP
Defect Conformal Field Theory and the Locally Localized Graviton Wed. 1/8/2003
1:30
Michael Gutperle
Stanford
Spacetime Energy Decreases under World-sheet RG Flow Fri. 1/10/2003
12:30
Andreas Karch
Washington U.
The AdS dual of free scalar fields Wed. 1/15/2003
1:30



Yasaman Farzan
SLAC
Bounds on the couplings of the Majoron from supernova cooling Fri. 1/17/2003
12:30
Shufang Su
CalTech
Probing Supersymmetry with Neutral Current Scattering Experiments Wed. 1/22/2003
1:30
Frank Petriello
SLAC
Constraining the littlest higgs Fri. 1/24/2003
12:30



Joint SLAC, Stanford, Santa Cruz seminar canceled Wed. 1/29/2003
1:30
Mohammad Sheikh-Jabbari
Stanford
Transverse Five Branes in Matrix Theory Fri. 1/31/2003
12:30
Carola Berger
SUNY, Stony Brook
Loops and webs - Singular coefficients of partonic splitting functions Wed. 2/5/2003
1:30



N. Seiberg at Santa Cruz Thu. 2/6/2003
noon
Qingjuan Yu
CITA, Toronto
Massive black holes in galactic centers Fri. 2/7/2003
12:30
Joint SLAC, Stanford, Santa Cruz seminar canceled Wed. 2/12/2003
1:30



Paul Frampton
North Carolina U.
Strong-Electroweak Unification at About 4 TeV Fri. 2/14/2003
12:30
Dieter Zeppenfeld
UW-Madison
Higgs physics at the LHC Wed. 2/19/2003
1:30
William Kilgore
BNL
Inclusive Higgs Boson Production at Hadron Colliders Fri. 2/21/2003
12:30



Eric D'Hoker
UCLA
Progress on Two Loop Superstrings Wed. 2/26/2003
1:30
Marvin Weinstein
SLAC
CORE: Frustrated Magnets, Charge Fractionalization & QCD Fri. 2/28/2003
12:30
Lee Smolin
Perimeter Institute
Quantum gravity with a positive cosmological constant Wed. 3/5/2003
1:30



Amir-Kian Kashani-Poor
SLAC
Instanton counting and Chern-Simons theory Fri. 3/7/2003
12:30
Ayres Freitas
Fermilab
The MSSM Higgs sector beyond leading order Wed. 3/12/2003
1:30
Thomas Becher
SLAC
Continuum methods in lattice perturbation theory Fri. 3/14/2003
12:30



Silas Beane
Washington
Hidden symmetries of the strong interaction Wed. 3/19/2003
1:30
David Spergel
Princeton
Implications of the WMAP data: Neutrinos, Inflation and more... Fri. 3/21/2003
12:30

no seminar Wed. 3/26/2003
1:30



Richard Hill
SLAC
Spectator Interactions in Soft Collinear Effective Theory Fri. 3/28/2003
12:30
Dmitri Diakonov
Nordita, Denmark

Dyons in supersymmetric and ordinary Yang--Mills theory
Wed. 4/2/2003
1:30

no seminar Fri. 4/4/2003
12:30



Tao Han
UW-Madison
String resonances as TeV scale new physics Wed. 4/9/2003
1:30
Tony Gherghetta
Minnesota U.
The standard model partly supersymmetric Fri. 4/11/2003
12:30
Christian Bauer
San Diego
Factorization in QCD Wed. 4/16/2003
1:30



Takemichi Okui
Berkeley
Supersymmetry breaking by twisted boundary conditions on AdS_5 Fri. 4/18/2003
12:30
David Kosower
Saclay, Paris
Infrared Issues in QCD and Resummation Wed. 4/23/2003
1:30
Matt Lippert
UCSB
It's the End of the World as We Know It: The Decay of Stringy de Sitter Fri. 4/25/2003
12:30



Steffen Bass
Duke U.
The Physics of the Quark-Gluon-Plasma - Status and Outlook Wed. 4/30/2003
1:30
Ian Ellwood
MIT
Tadpoles and closed string backgrounds in open string field theory Fri. 5/2/2003
12:30
John Campbell
Argonne
Boson + jets production and the Monte Carlo MCFM Wed. 5/7/2003
1:30



Alex Maloney
Harvard
S-Brane Thermodynamics Fri. 5/9/2003
12:30
Tim Tait
Fermilab
Kaluza-Klein Dark Matter Wed. 5/14/2003
1:30

TBA Fri. 5/16/2003
12:30



Adrian Signer
Durham, UK
Infrared finite amplitudes for massless gauge theories Wed. 5/21/2003
1:30
Alvaro de Rujula
CERN
Gamma ray bursts, an enigma being unraveled Fri. 5/23/2003 Orange room, 12:30
Ann Nelson
Washington U.
SLAC/Stanford/UCSC joint seminar
A composite Little Higgs Wed. 5/28/2003
Santa Cruz



Shmuel Nussinov
Tel Aviv U.
A Physicist's Approach to Complex Problems Thu. 5/29/2003
Zacharia Chacko
Berkeley
TBA Fri. 5/30/2003
12:30
Kaustubh Agashe
Johns Hopkins U.
Grand Unification in RS1, Naturally (and without SUSY) Wed. 6/4/2003
1:30




no seminar Fri. 6/6/2003
12:30
Radu Tatar
Berkeley
Geometry, Matrix Models and Effective Superpotentials Wed. 6/11/2003
1:30
Frank Petriello
SLAC
Drell-Yan Rapidity Distribution at NNLO in QCD Fri. 6/13/2003
10:00 Note Time




no seminar Wed. 6/18/2003
1:30
Sang-Jin Sin
SLAC
Localized Tachyon Condensation in Mirror Picture and a g-Theorem Analogue Fri. 6/20/2003
12:30

no seminar Wed. 6/25/2003
1:30



Mark van Raamsdonk
Stanford
Stringy thermodynamics in weakly coupled Yang-Mills theory Fri. 6/27/2003
12:30
  no seminar Wed. 7/2/2003
V.A. Karmanov
Lebedev Physical Institute, Moscow
Explicitly covariant light-front dynamics and applications Wed. 7/9/2003
1:30
Joan Soto
Barcelona
Model independent results for heavy quarkonium Wed. 7/16/2003
1:30



John Ellis
CERN
Road (W)map to Supersymmetry Wed. 7/23/2003
2:00  Orange Room
  SLAC summer institute Wed. 7/30/2003
1:30

SLAC summer institute Wed. 8/6 /2003
1:30




no seminar Wed. 8/13/2003
1:30
Paul Hoyer
Helsinki
Perturbative QCD in Hadron Physics Fri. 8/15/2003
12:30
Pervez Hoodbhoy
Quaid-e-Azam University, Islamabad, Pakistan
QCD And The Proton's Spin Tues. 8/19/2003
2:30 Note date and time



Yael Shadmi
Technion
Light GUT Triplets and Yukawa Splitting Fri. 8/22/2003
12:30
Susan Gardner
Kentucky
Revisiting B to pi l nu in perturbative QCD Tues. 8/26/2003
2:30 Note date and time
Yitzhak Frishman
Weizmann
Meson-Baryon Scattering in QCD_2 for any Coupling Wed. 8/27/2003
1:30



Jogesh Pati
University of Maryland
Neutrino Oscillations, Unification and Our Origin Fri. 8/29/2003
12:30
Gudrun Hiller
Munich
More Model Independent Analysis in b->s Processes Wed. 9/3 /2003
1:30
Brandon Murakami
Argonne
Anomaly mediated supersymmetry breaking and the ancillary U(1) formalism Wed. 9/10/2003
1:30



Subhendu Rakshit
Technion
Generic Neutrino Spectra in the Presence of R-parity violation Wed. 9/17/2003
1:30
Jure Zupan
Technion
Lattice QCD with heavy mesons: quenching and extrapolational errors Wed. 9/24/2003
1:30
Emil Martinec
University of Chicago
Having the World on a String: toy models of inflation Fri. 9/26/2003
12:30



Alon Faraggi
University of Oxford
Phenomenological aspects of M-theory Wed. 10/01/2003
1:30
Edward Baltz
SLAC
Dark Matter from beyond the Standard Model Fri. 10/03/2003
12:30
Paul Davies
Macquarie University
How many universes are there? Special seminar
Mon. 10/06/2003 4:15  Redwood Room C/D



Kieran Holland
UCSD
How light can the Higgs be? Wed. 10/08/2003
1:30
  no seminar Fri. 10/10/2003
12:30
Henry Tye
Cornell
Brane Inflation: From Superstring to Cosmic Strings Wed. 10/15/2003
1:30



Liam McAllister
Stanford
Towards Inflation in String Theory Fri. 10/17/2003
12:30
David Tong
MIT
Cosmology in a Trabant Wed. 10/22/2003
1:30
Anatoly Spitkovsky
SLAC
Hurricanes on neutron stars: dynamics of type I X-ray bursts Fri. 10/24/2003
12:30



Mark Strikman
Penn State
Probing QCD in Ultraperipheral Collisions at LHC Wed. 10/29/2003
1:30
Benjamin Lillie
SLAC
Large Yukawa Hierarchies from Extra Dimensions Fri. 10/31/2003
12:30
Ian Low
Harvard
TeV Symmetry and the little Hierarchy Problem Wed. 11/05/2003
1:30



Gia Dvali
New York University
New Physics from the Far Infrared? Fri. 11/07/2003
12:30
Puneet Batra
Stanford/the Johns Hopkins University
Massaging the MSSM Wed. 11/12/2003
1:30
Charalampos Anastasiou
SLAC
Rapidity Distributions for Electroweak Bosons at Hadron Colliders Fri. 11/14/2003
12:30



Ghazal Geshnizjani
Brown University
Back-Reaction of Cosmological Perturbations on a Local Measure of the Expansion Rate Wed. 11/19/2003
1:30
Wynn Ho
Stanford
Thermal Radiation from the Atmosphere of Magnetic Neutron Stars Fri. 11/21/2003
12:30
Yigal Shamir
Tel Aviv University
Recent Developments with Domain-wall (and Overlap) Fermions Wed. 11/26/2003
1:30



Liantao Wang
University of Wisconsin
Aspects of Little Higgs Phenomenology Wed. 12/03/2003
1:30
Eva Silverstein
SLAC and Stanford
Scalars in Slow Motion and Cosmology Fri. 12/05/2003
12:30
Jacob Wacker
Stanford
Minimality and Little Higgs Models Wed. 12/10/2003>



Samuel Moukouri
University of Michigan
  Fri. 12/12/2003
12:30
     



Return to Top                                                          Previous Seminars

Guadalupe Makasyuk