Configure lsf.cluster.cluster_name ResourceMap section

About this task

Resources are associated with the hosts for which they are defined in the ResourceMap section of lsf.cluster.cluster_name.


For each resource, specify the name (RESOURCENAME) and the hosts that have it (LOCATION).

If the ResourceMap section is not defined, then any dynamic resources specified in lsf.shared are not tied to specific hosts, but are shared across all hosts in the cluster.

  • RESOURCENAME: The name of the resource, as defined in lsf.shared.

  • LOCATION: The hosts that share the resource. For a static resource, you must define an initial value here as well. Do not define a value for a dynamic resource.

    ([resource_value@][host_name... | all [~host_name]... | others | default] ...)
    • For resource_value, square brackets are not valid.

    • For static resources, you must include the resource value, which indicates the quantity of the resource.

    • Type square brackets around the list of hosts, as shown. You can omit the parenthesis if you only specify one set of hosts.

    • The same host cannot be in more than one instance of a resource, as indicated by square brackets. All hosts within the instance share the quantity of the resource indicated by its value.

    • The keyword all refers to all the server hosts in the cluster, collectively. Use the not operator (~) to exclude hosts or host groups.

    • The keyword others refers to all hosts not otherwise listed in the instance.

    • The keyword default refers to each host in the cluster, individually.

Most resources specified in the ResourceMap section are interpreted by LSF commands as shared resources, which are displayed using lsload -s or lshosts -s.

The exceptions are:

  • Non-shared static resources

  • Dynamic numeric resources specified using the default keyword. These are host-based resources and behave like the built-in load indices such as mem and swp. They are viewed using lsload -l or lsload -I.


A cluster consists of hosts host1, host2, and host3.

Begin ResourceMap
verilog        (5@[all ~host1 ~host2])
synopsys       (2@[host1 host2] 2@[others])
console        (1@[host1] 1@[host2] 1@[host3])
xyz            (1@[default])
End ResourceMap

In this example:

  • 5 units of the verilog resource are defined on host3 only (all hosts except host1 and host2).

  • 2 units of the synopsys resource are shared between host1 and host2. 2 more units of the synopsys resource are defined on host3 (shared among all the remaining hosts in the cluster).

  • 1 unit of the console resource is defined on each host in the cluster (assigned explicitly). 1 unit of the xyz resource is defined on each host in the cluster (assigned with the keyword default).


For Solaris machines, the keyword int is reserved.

Resources required for JSDL


To submit jobs using JSDL files, you must uncomment the following lines:
osname         [default]
osver          [default]
cpuarch        [default]
cpuspeed       [default]
bandwidth      [default]